Design Show

So, with all the reality tv out there (that I don’t watch), how is there not a graphic design show? There are numerous reality cooking competition shows and we (the audience) can’t even judge their productions. Boring in my book.

Whenever I need to design something on the fly I always think about my show concept. It would be amazing. Get a bunch of colorful designers together and make them sleep in bunk beds in a loft somewhere in the East Village or something and then give them 30 minutes or an hour to complete some design task; rebrand a company, layout an imaginary magazine, design a poster for a cool rock star who acts as one of the weeks judges. Give them fun restrictions…you have to design the poster using only Twizzlers and your left hand, unless you’re left handed then you can only use your right.

Anyway, my tall honey and I did a little Star Wars redesign for short honey’s 8th birthday. The big reveal was Saturday evening, and that day there was one last place left in the room that needed a bit more Star Wars art. So, with four cheap 8.5×11 frames and about an hour to spare this is what I came up with.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Not my best work ever, but it did the job and (as with most quick turn projects) was a pretty fun exercise.

3 thoughts on “Design Show

Leave a comment